Mr. Jackson
@mrjackson

Call Or Text 24x7

Si Habla Español

New Jersey Car Accident Lawyer

$5 Million
Jury Verdict
$3.2 Million
Settlement
$3 Million
Settlement
$560 Million
Jury Verdict

We Get Results

Experienced New Jersey’s Car Accident Lawyers

Don't deal with insurance companies on their own. Contact David DiBrigida right now!

Accidents in automobiles happen in the blink of an eye. They are extremely disruptive to one’s life, emotionally distressing, and frequently cause severe pain to accident victims. Some vehicle accidents are severe enough to result in life-altering injuries, long-term suffering, and even wrongful death. Regardless, practically every automobile accident in New Jersey’s results in some form of financial or personal suffering.
Our New Jersey’s automobile accident lawyers at David DiBrigida, LLC understand how aggravating and painful a vehicle accident can be. Around our more than 30 years of business, we have assisted innumerable automobile accident victims in New Jersey and throughout Southwest New Jersey.
Severe, catastrophic, and deadly injuries occur in certain vehicle accidents. If you were injured in an automobile accident caused by the carelessness of another party, New Jersey’s law allows you to seek compensation for your injuries in civil court. When another person’s irresponsible actions behind the wheel caused an accident, you shouldn’t have to bear the financial burden that typically comes with catastrophic accident injuries.
David DiBrigida experienced New Jersey’s vehicle accident lawyers have dealt with insurance companies, investigated incidents, and assisted clients in recovering damages for their injuries. Allow an experienced lawyer to handle the intricacies of your case.

What is the value of your case?

What Our Clients Say

David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless.

Advocating for Those Injured in Car Crashes Since 1995

The firm’s persistent commitment to fighting for its clients has resulted in millions of dollars in negotiated settlements and court-ordered penalties. Because each case is unique, it’s hard to predict outcomes, but our team will fight for you and do everything we can to establish a solid case against responsible parties so that you get the best possible conclusion.
David DiBrigida’s legal team has more than 30 years of expertise helping injured clients get the compensation they deserve for damages caused by irresponsible parties in vehicle accidents and injuries.

Holding Negligent Drivers Responsible for the Accident

It is critical that victims of negligence understand that they are not responsible for the costs incurred as a result of someone else’s carelessness right from the outset. Victims may be able to collect financial compensation for their injuries and any related suffering even though the at-fault driver had no intention of harming anyone.
Car accidents can happen for a variety of reasons, but the majority of them are avoidable. One or more drivers’ negligence is frequently the cause of traffic collisions. The following are some examples of irresponsible driving habits that frequently result in accidents:

Speeding

The drivers are rushing to get to their destination. Perhaps they are impatient, or perhaps they are late. Speeding, in any case, creates serious, and occasionally fatal, accidents. Drivers who speed endanger others because they are more likely to lose control of their car. At the very least, it becomes more difficult to react to other vehicles and road hazards, especially in heavy winds and inclement weather.

Drowsy driving

Driving without proper rest remains a problem for New Jersey drivers. Fatigued drivers have slow reaction times and impaired senses, which can affect vision and spatial perception. Drowsy drivers can fall asleep at the wheel and cause catastrophic and fatal accidents. Shift workers, professional drivers, and those with untreated sleep disorders pose the most risk to other drivers on the road.

Driving when inebriated is illegal

Although driving under the influence is most commonly associated with alcohol, drug use can also impair drivers in New Jersey. In either scenario, unwinding on the weekend, having a few drinks after work, celebrating a holiday with alcohol or drugs, or drinking too much wine at dinner leads to an excessive number of drivers getting behind the wheel. The fact that alcohol and drugs affect each person differently is the most harmful component of consuming them. While a driver may believe they haven’t had enough to impair their driving, they are frequently mistaken. This blunder can result in serious and fatal collisions.

Driving while distracted

Distracted driving is defined by the New Jersey Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) as “anything that takes your hands off the wheel, your eyes off the road, or your mind off driving.” Drivers must maintain a high level of concentration on the road in order to see and react to other vehicles and dangers. Distracted drivers are unable to react, putting others at danger of serious accidents. Eating, adjusting climate controls or the radio, daydreaming, personal grooming, chatting with passengers, or watching another event outside the vehicle are all instances of distractions.

Tailgating

Drivers who are impatient, inconsiderate, or unskilled tend to follow other vehicles too closely. Leaving a two to four second gap between vehicles is recommended by driving instructors. Tailgaters don’t give themselves enough room or time to react to a car that has to turn or stop fast. At medium to high speeds, tailgating frequently causes in rear-end crashes, which can be fatal.

Turn signals are not used.

Although there is little data on whether or not drivers utilize their turn signals when changing lanes, a recent landmark study found that more than half of 12,000 drivers did not use their signals when changing lanes, and nearly a quarter did not signal their turns. According to the report, drivers who do not use turn signals cause up to two million car accidents each year. The use of signals informs other vehicles, bikers, and pedestrians of a driver’s intentions, allowing them to react properly.

Not removing blind areas

When turning or changing lanes, all vehicles have blind zones that need drivers to use both of their mirrors and possibly even glance to the side to ensure another vehicle is not present. Inexperienced drivers or those who concentrate solely on the view directly in front of them risk colliding with another vehicle, a motorcycle, a bicycle, or a tiny automobile, all of which can be easily overlooked in a blind area.

Speeding through yellow lights

Some drivers speed up in order to get through a yellow stoplight before it turns red. Because they don’t know how long the yellow light will continue, many cars don’t make it all the way through the light. In congested areas, this can lead to significant car accidents, resulting in serious injuries or fatalities.

Fatal Car Accident Statistics in Lee County, New Jersey

What Our Clients Say

David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigidan is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless.

How did you become hurt?

We understand how frustrating it can be to deal with an injury and the financial consequences that come with high medical expenses. No one should have to go through losing their capacity to work as a result of an injury and being harassed or disregarded by their insurance company.
A New Jersey personal injury lawyer from David A. DiBrigida may be able to assist you in recovering your damages, regardless of how you were hurt.

Car Accidents

Motorcycle Accidents

Truck Accidents

Uber & Lyft Accidents

Bicycle Accidents

Pedestrian Accidents

Trips, Slips and Falls

Workplace Accidents

Catastrophic Injury

Wrongful Death

INJURY CASES

SEE ALL PRACTICE AREAS >

INJURY TYPES

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance Coverage in New Jersey

Under New Jersey’s no-fault insurance regulations, drivers must have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage when they register a vehicle. Before seeking reimbursement from the other driver or his insurance carrier after a car accident in New Jersey or elsewhere in New Jersey, injured parties must first submit a claim under their PIP policy.
In New Jersey, personal injury protection (PIP) pays 80% of medical expenditures and 60% of lost wages as a result of an accident. When you’re in a moderate to serious vehicle accident, you’re likely to fast reach or exceed your policy limits. If this occurs, you may be able to sue the other driver and/or his insurance company for damages. Your vehicle accident lawyer will walk you through the procedure and make sure you file any necessary lawsuits within the applicable statute of limitations.

In the event of a car accident in New Jersey, there are several defense strategies to consider.

Those implicated in a personal injury lawsuit as a consequence of an automobile accident will go to great lengths to avoid being held responsible. The defense may employ the following methods to diminish the value of a claim:

Putting the blame on the plaintiff

In personal injury lawsuits, especially those involving car accidents, New Jersey courts use comparative fault to determine the amount to which a plaintiff may have contributed to the accident’s cause. If the court determines that the plaintiff is partially at fault, any compensation will be reduced by the proportion of fault given to the plaintiff. The defense may use comparative fault to blame the plaintiff, claiming that he or she was speeding, driving while intoxicated, or driving while texting.

The plaintiff's injuries are being minimized.

The defense may allege that the plaintiff’s injuries aren’t as severe as they claim in order to pay less in a settlement or in court-ordered damages. They may fight about the cost of medical treatment as well as the amount of time required to recover before returning to work. The defense may alternatively argue that the plaintiff’s injuries were not caused by the vehicle accident, but rather by a preexisting injury that is causing discomfort.

Providing a low-cost settlement

When defense parties, particularly insurance companies, realize they are responsible for some or all of the losses, they may make a hasty and modest settlement offer soon after the event. Initial settlement offers are intended to persuade plaintiffs to settle out of court so that the defense does not have to pay out a much greater amount later. These settlement offers are frequently significantly less than what a plaintiff is entitled to as compensation for losses sustained as a consequence of an automobile accident. When a plaintiff agrees to a settlement, they relinquish their right to sue.
David A. DiBrigida experienced New Jersey vehicle accident lawyers have dealt with insurance companies, investigated accidents, and assisted clients in recovering damages for their injuries. Allow an experienced lawyer to handle the details of your case.

What is the value of your case?

What Our Clients Say

David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Accidents in New Jersey

More than 400,000 traffic incidents occurred on New Jersey’s roads and highways in 2018, according to the New Jersey Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), with 3,150 fatalities and more than 250,000 injuries. Car accidents can happen for a variety of reasons, including environmental, technical, and human factors, but the majority of them are avoidable. Driver irresponsibility and poor decisions behind the wheel frequently result in serious, sometimes fatal car accidents. If you have recently been involved in an automobile accident in Southwest New Jersey, you may be feeling overwhelmed and unclear of what steps to do. Review the answers to frequently asked questions concerning vehicle accidents in New Jersey below to choose the best course of action for your situation.

Certain vehicle accident circumstances in New Jersey require law enforcement to file a police report. They are as follows:

  • Any collisions that result in bodily injury; any collisions that result in one or more fatalities;
  • Any accident in which one of the parties flees the scene;
  • Any collision involving a driver who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
  • Any collision that necessitates the use of a wrecker to remove a car from the scene:
    Any collision involving a commercial vehicle;
  • Any collision in which the property damage is clearly in excess of $500.

If any of the scenarios described above applied to your car accident, you should have waited for police to arrive and fill out an accident report; nonetheless, you have 10 days to report the accident before you break the law.

If your car accident was severe enough, emergency responders such as local police and/or the New Jersey Highway Patrol were likely dispatched to the scene to assist, investigate, and file a detailed accident report. However, there are times when you may not be able to promptly file a report with law authorities for whatever reason. In these circumstances, you can self-report to the Crash Records Department in Tallahassee online or by mail, or contact your local FHP Troop Station. You must complete out a “Driver Report of Traffic Crash” form and submit it online when self-reporting. Tiny accidents can also be self-reported to ensure that you have a record of what happened; even minor accidents might result in injury.

Any motorist or passenger in an automobile accident in New Jersey has the legal right to a copy of the final crash report. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in New Jersey keeps copies of the accident report. It may take up to ten days for your report to be completed and for you to receive copies. You can order a copy of the book online, in person, or by mail.

  • Online. You can order a copy of your crash report for $10 plus a $2 convenience fee if you go to the  New Jersey Crash Portal online. Your report will be immediately accessible for download after you finish your payment, and you must complete it within 48 hours.

 

  • In person is preferable. If you want a copy of your crash report in person, go to the nearest  New Jersey Highway Patrol troop station and pay the $10 charge for up to 10 copies of the report.
  • Snail mail, to be precise. Individual records can be requested by mail, but this is usually reserved for requests of more than ten records. Using snail mail will also take at least a month to receive your record. The  New Jersey Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Crash Records, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28, Tallahassee, FL 32399, requires a sworn statement for each report as well as a check or money order for the total cost of reports.

 

If you were involved in a serious car accident, you were most likely taken to the local emergency department via ambulance shortly after the accident. However, you may have been fortunate enough to walk away from the accident or you may have been engaged in a minor collision. If you refused medical attention at the scene of the accident and haven’t seen a doctor since then, you should schedule an appointment as soon as feasible.

 

Following a car accident, your health and safety should take precedence. TBI and whiplash are two typical vehicle accident ailments that don’t exhibit symptoms for days after the event. However, a doctor may be able to diagnose these injuries sooner with a complete medical check. You risk causing more harm by avoiding medical treatment. Avoiding treatment in the most serious cases could be life-threatening.

 

For insurance claims and litigation, medical proof of your injuries is also necessary. Proving your injuries were caused by the vehicle accident, not some other event or accident, is an important part of avoiding a claim denial or winning a lawsuit. Lawyers, insurance investigators, and the court have access to your medical records, making it difficult for anybody to claim you have previous injuries. If you have been injured, the doctor who checks you can also act as a witness to talk about your prognosis and chances of recovery.

 New Jersey is a no-fault insurance state, which means that anybody who registers a vehicle must have at least $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. This means that if you are involved in a car accident, regardless of responsibility, you can file a claim under your PIP coverage, which will pay for a portion of your medical bills and lost income. Although there are few exceptions, PIP coverage in  New Jersey normally covers 80% of medical bills and 60% of lost wages. Even though PIP does not cover 100 percent of economic losses, $10,000 in coverage in a serious accident does not go very far.

 

Unless you take additional action, once you’ve over your PIP limit, you’re responsible for your medical expenditures and will have to go without pay until you can return to work. You have the option of filing a claim with the at-fault driver’s motor insurance company or filing a personal injury lawsuit against them. For the majority of people, now is the time to hire an attorney who can manage communication and discussions with the insurance company on your behalf in order to fight for full and fair recompense for your injuries and accident.

If you sue the at-fault driver for damages after exceeding your PIP limits, you may receive compensation for the following damages in a settlement or a favorable verdict:

  • Medical costs not covered by PIP, such as ambulance services, hospitalization, diagnostic imaging, follow-up visits, prescription, and surgery
  • Future medical costs incurred when a major injury necessitates extended recuperation, results in permanent disability, or causes conditions that necessitate lifelong care.
  • Wages lost that aren’t covered by PIP
  • If a severe automobile accident injury prohibits you from returning to work or finding meaningful employment in the future, you may be entitled to compensation.
  • Cost of rehabilitative treatments such as physical therapy, occupational therapy, and any other professionals who assist you in regaining function and learning to manage with your injuries.
  • Suffering and physical pain
  • Anguish in the mind
  • Loss of life quality
  • Consensus loss with a spouse
  • Any other non-economic damages you may be entitled to in your situation
  • Punitive damages are only used in extreme circumstances of deliberate harm or egregious negligence.
New Jersey does not require you to carry uninsured motorist (UM) coverage; however, your auto insurance provider was supposed to offer it to you. If you chose to reject the coverage, you would have done it in writing. If you have been hit by an uninsured driver, you need to double check your auto insurance coverage to see if you have UM coverage. If you have purchased uninsured motorist coverage, often coupled with underinsured motorist coverage, your policy will kick in after you have exhausted your PIP policy limits. If you have not purchased UM coverage, you will be shouldered with the financial burden of property damage to your car, medical expenses, lost wages, and all other economic losses related to your car accident. You can file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver to seek compensation for damages, but it’s unlikely you will be able to recover any money, even if the court rules in your favor. If the driver had large financial resources, it’s likely he or she would not have been uninsured. Your attorney can help you investigate your accident and look for third parties who might share liability with the uninsured driver, allowing you to recover some or all of your losses.
After you file a lawsuit against another motorist as a result of a car accident, the insurance company will conduct a comprehensive investigation into the incident in order to assign a claim value and decide liability. Insurance companies will go to any length to deny a claim or limit their financial exposure, especially if they know their policyholder was at fault. One way insurance companies try to decrease the amount they have to pay out on a claim is to provide an early settlement to car accident damage victims. These early offers may appear appealing on the surface, but they are designed to convince you to accept the money and sign away your right to claim for compensation. However, if you have incurred serious injuries, these offers are usually substantially less than you deserve and significantly less than the damages that a court could award. It is your discretion whether or not to accept an early offer, but it is virtually always in your best interest to contact with a personal injury attorney before making a decision. Consider making an early offer as a starting point for discussions. Negotiations can be handled by a knowledgeable attorney, causing the insurance company to consider you seriously. Many insurance companies will stop making low-ball offers once a lawyer is engaged. A good lawyer can usually negotiate a significantly bigger payment for you. When insurance companies refuse to settle or pay, your lawyer can represent you in court and litigate your case, giving you a higher chance of receiving the amount you deserve.

After a car accident in New Jersey, you may be entitled to compensation.

If you opt to suit for damages after exceeding your PIP limitations, you may be able to recover compensation for a number of expenses and losses incurred as a result of the automobile accident. Punitive and compensatory damages may be included in settlements and verdicts in your favor. Punitive damages, which are meant to penalize the offender, are only awarded in rare circumstances of gross negligence or willful harm. Compensatory damages are frequently awarded by courts, and may include compensation for the following:

Your Legal Rights.

Your Recuperation.

It is our obligation.

If you’ve been in a vehicle accident, you’ve undoubtedly experienced not just the physical pain of injury and recovery, but also the emotional and financial stress that comes with it. You should not have to suffer financially as a result of another party’s negligence; you are entitled to full compensation for any losses incurred as a result of the accident. We recognize that this is a difficult time for you and your family, and we are here to fight for your rights and bring those responsible accountable. Allow our experienced New Jersey  car accident attorneys to take care of the intricacies of your case, such as analyzing the accident to unearth information that we may use to construct a case against the defense.

What Our Clients Say

David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless. David A. DiBrigida is a really good injury attorney and I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and my family in the time of need, thank you and God bless.

Why Hire Us

Over 30 Years of Experience

We've been fighting for the rights of accident victims since 1995, and we wouldn't have it any other way.

Board Certified by the New Jersey Bar

New Jersey recognizes Attorney David A. DiBrigida's reputation for legal excellence. As a result, he upholds this prestigious title.

Case Reviews that are both free and confidential

Preparation is the key to a good case outcome. We get down with each client to have a better understanding of the personal injury issues they are facing.

You don't have to pay anything unless we win.

Because we operate on a contingency fee basis, our clients owe us nothing unless and until we win their case.

Helping those Injured in Accidents Across New Jersey

While we are proud to call New Jersey home, we are also more than happy to help injured people living anywhere in the Sunshine State. In fact, we’ve even been known to travel all around the country just to meet our clients’ needs.

We are here to help the residents of:

Schedule a Free Consultation

What Our Clients Say

For a man who was rear-ended striking his knee on the dashboard requiring arthroscopic surgery to repair it.
INSURANCE OFFER
$10,000
WHAT WE GOT
$90,000
A 30 year old man who was walking to the store, a hit and run victim with a shoulder and head injury.
INSURANCE OFFER
$125,000
WHAT WE GOT
$500,000

Recent Articles from the Blog

What Should You Do If You Have Been Injured In A Head-on Collision?

Head-on collision injuries are not only frightening, but they may also leave victims with life-altering injuries, terrible agony, and expensive medical expenses that will affect their entire family for the rest of their lives.If you’ve been in a head-on collision, though, you shouldn’t have to